Quinoa with Cauliflower and Mushrooms

October 22, 2013 § 1 Comment

photo 1 Colieflorie, coly-flory, coleflower, colly-flowre; these are but some of the spellings of cauliflower since the mid-sixteenth century. It takes its roots from either the Latin cauli-floria or the French chou-flori. Caul in Latin means stem, stalk or cabbage (caul became cole in Middle English, giving us the modern word ‘kale’). I know, you’re probably wondering why I’m providing you with the etymology of the word ‘cauliflower.’ And truth be told, I have no reason except that when I typed ‘cauliflower’ in the title of this post, I was struck but what a funny word it really is. This, of course, led me to consult my trusty friend, the OED. And because I found all of this extremely interesting, I decided to relay it here for your own edification. Isn’t learning fun?!

This recipe was inspired by a recipe that I saw briefly on Pinterest, forgot to Pin and then couldn’t find again. So not entirely my own creation and my apologies to the person who came up with this initially.

photo 2

Quinoa with Cauliflower and Mushrooms
Serves 4-6

  • 1 large head of cauliflower, cut into small florets
  • 2 cups mushrooms, chopped
  • 2 cups quinoa, rinsed
  • 1 tbsp thyme
  • salt and pepper
  • handful of chopped walnuts, toasted
  • 1/2 cup goat feta
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
  • squeeze of honey
  • dollop of mustard
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Place cauliflower florets and chopped mushrooms on baking tray, drizzle with olive oil, season with thyme, salt and pepper and stir to coat. Roast until slightly caramelized (about 30 minutes, stirring once or twice).

2. Place quinoa in a saucepan and cover with 3 cups of water. Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer and let cook until tender (about 15 minutes).

3. Place olive oil, balsamic, honey, mustard, garlic, salt and pepper in a jar and shake.

4. Once vegetables and quinoa are cooked, place in serving dish and toss to combine. Sprinkle with walnuts and feta and drizzle with dressing to taste.

Cheers!

 

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Quinoa with Cauliflower and Mushrooms

  • Karlin says:

    Finally! Intention has met action and my payoff is this deliciously flavoured & textured healthy food experience. I am chewing my quinoa cauliflower right now and sending you bliss. Thank you so much for recording your culinary creativity. Please keep going! I will be working through your recipes one a week so you have a head start. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quinoa with Cauliflower and Mushrooms at The Cycling Chef.

meta

