Bircher Muesli with Berries

August 14, 2013 § 2 Comments

5

I l-o-v-e oats! For the longest time I didn’t eat them when I had to remove gluten from my diet, as the only oats that seemed to be available for the longest time were contaminated. It was only a year or two ago that I discovered gluten-free oats at my favourite bulk foods store and they have since made a huge comeback in my diet. Full of fibre and protein, oats are healthy, filling and have a lovely chewy texture. You can put them in just about anything (crumble, smoothies, bread, granola bars, cookies) making oats incredibly versatile. Plus oats remind me of my grandfather’s hot cereal and anything that reminds me of my Bapa has a special place in my heart. Making a well in the bowl, adding a splash of cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar is a pretty vivid memory from my childhood. I loved the mouth sensation of having both the hot cereal and the cold cream in my mouth at the same time!

So what’s Bircher muesli you might ask? Both Elenore from Earthsprout and Sarah from My New Roots give a lovely history of Bircher muesli. Bircher was a Swiss doctor who believed in what we would refer today as holistic nutrition, that whole foods have the ability to heal and repair the body. Rumour has it that Bircher was inspired by Swiss shepherds whom he observed soaking their oats overnight before eating them the next morning. And that’s basically what Bircher muesli is (it’s also sometimes referred to as overnight oats)! Soaking the oats makes them easy to digest – your body doesn’t have to waste energy breaking down the grain and can soak up all the nutrients that much faster.

6

As someone who loves oats, it seemed downright ridiculous that I had never tried this method before. I know right?! A few evenings ago the boyfriend suggested that we take the bikes out to the countryside and go and pick blackberries (I’m not going to lie, it was kinda romantic). There were birds and bees and rabbits and feral cats (no lie!) and the warm evening sun was making everything glow. We managed to pick 3 clamshells full in about an hour and then headed home to wash and freeze them. I left some out just for eating and decided that tonight was the night! I was going to try my hand at making Bircher muesli, if only to serve has a vehicle for plump, fresh blackberries. And I’m so glad that I did!

Bircher Muesli with Berries

Serves 2

  • 1 1/3 cup gluten free oats
  • 4 TBSP chia seeds
  • 1 cup (goat) yogurt
  • 1 cup water or milk
  • Pinch of salt
  • Splash of vanilla
  • Drizzle of honey
  • Handful of berries

1. Mix all ingredients except the berries and split between two bowls.

2. Sprinkle assorted berries on top.

3. Place in fridge overnight.

4. Wake up, cuddle the cat and eat your muesli. You can pretend that you’re a Swiss shepherd (not that I ever do . . . .).

Cheers!

7 4  2 1 IMG_1186

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Bircher Muesli with Berries

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bircher Muesli with Berries at The Cycling Chef.

meta

