Comfort Food

April 11, 2013 § Leave a comment

Oh spring! You are my favourite! With your pretty pink cherry blossoms, birdsong, longer days and (slightly) warmer temperatures, how’s a girl to resist? I love that I don’t have to turn on the blinky lights on my bike until 7:30pm these days. Spring inspired me to buy this beautiful, fragrant bunch of fresh dill the other day and so I’ve been putting it in everything. Hummus, wraps, salads, soup – it was starting to look a little bedraggled and so the remainders are now drying on my kitchen counter. Although I no longer need my heavy coat and boots, there are days when the temperature drops suddenly and I’m left shivering in my kitchen after my bike ride home, trying to figure out what I want to eat. My desire for spring flavour coupled with my need to warm myself up inspired this little beauty of an egg salad sandwich. Egg salad to me is total comfort, as is warm toast, so I thought I’d combine the two and make an open-faced sandwich on my homemade gluten-free bread. Instead of using mayonnaise, I used an avocado that I had lying around. The result was creamy, tangy goodness! Please excuse the less-than-stellar photos; as I’ve mentioned before, egg doesn’t photograph all that well . . . .

photo 2

Egg Salad with Avocado

Serves 3

  • 5 eggs
  • 1 avocado
  • 3 green onions
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 2 tbsp Italian parsley
  • 1 tbsp capers
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp fresh dill

1. Poke a tiny hole at the fat end of each egg with the tip of a very sharp knife. Place eggs in a saucepan and fill with water until just covered. Bring to a full boil on high heat (uncovered), remove from heat, place lid on top and let sit for 12 minutes. After 12 minutes, pour out hot water and cover with cold water to stop the cooking process.

2. While eggs are cooking, chop the avocado, celery, herbs and green onions. Place in a bowl and add capers and salt and pepper.

3. Once the eggs are cooked, peel off the shell and place in a bowl. Smash the eggs and then add to the bowl that contains all the other ingredients. Mix well, but gently.

4. Eat on warm toast, corn or rice cakes or even in a lettuce wrap.

photo 4

Cheers!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Comfort Food at The Cycling Chef.

meta

