Simple is Best

March 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

Sometimes I forget to breath. I’ll get so caught up in whatever is going on in my life that my automatic nervous system will cease and desist. It’s like sleep apnea, except that I’m awake. At times when life feels too busy and panic-inducing for basic human functions, I try my best to make sure that I’m putting nothing but good things into my body. Generally speaking I hold with the age-old wisdom of moderation; I eat well 80% of the time, have my treats 20% of the time and I partake in some form of exercise daily. If I want to eat the cookie, I eat the cookie. However, when I’m stressed I tend to want to eat WAY too much sugar and carbs (I know I’m not alone) so I try to make a conscious effort not too. Yes, my brain might be satiated for a few moments, but then I’ll feel even worse from the spike and crash of too much sugar. Both myself and the boyfriend love to snack and since cooking relaxes me, I’ve been making lots of small bits and pieces to nibble on. Today I’m sharing two such recipes, both of which are great on their own or thrown together in a salad.

New Image

Roasted Tamari Almonds

  • 3 cups whole almonds
  • 1/3 cup gluten-free tamari
  • dash or two of hot sauce (ours is from Belize!)

1. Preheat oven to 300F.

2. Place almonds on a baking tray and roast for 10 minutes.

3. Remove from oven and toss with tamari and hot sauce. Let sit for 10 minutes.

4. Place back in the oven for another 15 minutes.

5. Let cool and enjoy!

Rosemary Lemon Tofu Sticks

  • 2 x 16oz block extra firm tofu
  • 4 TBSP gluten-free tamari
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice (about 3-4 lemons)
  • 2 TBSP rosemary
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 TBSP olive oil

1. Preheat oven to 400F.

2. Cut tofu into finger-sized sticks.

3. Whisk tamari, lemon juice, olive oil, rosemary, salt and pepper in a bowl.

4. Pour half of the marinade on the bottom of a roasting pan, place tofu on top and then pour the remaining marinade on top.

5. Bake for 60 minutes, turning the sticks over at the half-way mark.

These are both great snacks to have on hand. The salad that you see pictured here was super easy to make and provided me with a healthy, light, protein-filled lunch. Just toss some leafy greens and sprouts in a bowl, top with a handful of the almonds and a few cut up sticks, drizzle with olive oil and balsamic. Really, it’s not even a recipe. I’m going to go and practice breathing now.

Cheers!

New Image 2

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Simple is Best at The Cycling Chef.

meta

